ESF After School
Programme Main Site

The Written Curriculum

Children's learning is arranged around a number of themes. We will cover four of the following themes in the course of a year.

  • Who we are
  • Where we are in place and time
  • How we express ourselves
  • How the world works
  • How we organise ourselves
  • Sharing the planet

A unit of inquiry is a block of learning based around one of these themes. Each unit of inquiry consists of a Central Idea – this is a big idea or concept. The whole unit of work aims to help the children understand this concept in depth.